ABC leaks Hottest 100 Winner; Spoils this post.

January 22, 2010

I voted in triple j's Hottest 100, have YOU?

Traditionally I’ve done a bit of a spiel on my predictions for triple j’s Hottest 100 Countdown. I even had one ready to go for this year, to be held on Tuesday. And then some poor ABC Shop online employee went and leaked the winner of the annual music countdown. If you’ve somehow managed to miss the kerfuffle that ensued and don’t want to be spoiled, DO NOT READ ON! In fact, what are you even doing on the internet? Go back under that rock you’ve been hiding under, and don’t come out until Tuesday.

THE WINNER IS MUMFORD AND SONS.

And somebody really has fucked it up this time.

There, I’ve said it. It’s out of the way. If you don’t believe me, have a look at the picture above, or check out Crikey’s article. They’re the bastards that leaked it (if you were wondering, I’m still a little PO’d that it’s been spoilt).

It’s at this point in time where I could easily boast that my predictions were correct. I always thought Mumford and Sons would take the top gong. The thing is, you would never actually know if that’s the case. But really, does anyone care? It’s Friday afternoon, and I need something to get me through the last hour of work.

Marcus Mumford aside, I suppose I can still divulge my predictions for the remainder of the top 10. Here’s what I think will get in between 2-11, in no particular order:

Art vs. Science- Parlez Vous Francais?
Bluejuice- Broken Leg
Dizzee Rascal – Bonkers
(unfortunately)
Hilltop Hoods – Chase that Feeling
Lily Allen – Not Fair
Muse- Uprising
(my bet for number 2)
Phoenix- 1901
Phoenix- Lisztomania
(despite the inevitable split of votes between these two, I think Phoenix are popular enough to crack two entries to the top 11)
Temper Trap – Fader

Yeah Yeah Yeahs- Heads Will Roll

I also think La Roux will make it up there, but the possible split between her big songs could let her down. Other big scorers will likely include Bloody Beetroots, Bag Raiders, Passion Pit, and a lot of disappointed bogans at the fact that Sweet Disposition can’t qualify.

If any of the 3 readers of this blog cares about my musical tastes, here’s what I voted for:

Animal Collective- My Girls
Art vs Science – Parlez Vous Francais
Bertie Blackman- Heart

Florence and the Machine – Rabbit Heart (Raise it Up)
Hungry Kids of Hungary – Scattered Diamonds
Kasabian – Fire
Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
Passion Pit – Little Secrets
Phoenix – Lisztomania
Silversun Pickups – Panic Switch

Triple j are yet to release a statement regarding the leaked image. It’ll be interesting how they do damage control over this one- the 100 has become somewhat of an institution on Australia Day. Or you know, this could all just be one big hoax. And the winner of 2009’s Hottest 100 is….this guy.

Leave a comment