2010 in entertainment

January 10, 2010


Well, the silly season is over; the last of the champagne consumed, unwanted presents discarded and the reality of extreme amounts of food have well and truly set in. As we dive headfirst into 2010, there are already plenty of upcoming releases- music, television and cinematic- that are glimmering with promise . While so many of us seem to be still in nostalgia-town of 2009, here’s what I’m looking forward to in 2010.

MUSIC


Vampire Weekend- Contra

The indie-prep kings from New York return with possibly the most anticipated album of 2010. But can it live up to their superb debut, or will it be another case of sophomore album syndrome?

Released: Now!





Spoon- Transference

Spoon often seem to go unnoticed in the increasingly mainstream indie world. Yet Metacritic named them the top artist of last decade. Maybe their seventh album will see all that change. Personally, I hope it doesn’t- either way, I’m still looking forward to this record.

Released: January 18th





Los Campesinos! – Romance is Boring

Despite their first album being released in early 2008, I only discovered this young Welsh band a couple of months ago when a friend lent me their CD- and it’s risen quickly up the ranks of my iTunes most played list. I’ll be interested to see what their second full-length release brings.

Released: January 26th




Broken Bells – Broken Bells

It really is a match made in heaven; a band made up of super-producer Danger Mouse, and the lead singer of the Shins, James Mercer. They’ve only released one song so far, but it’s very good (and free!). This is set to be the collaboration of 2010.

Released: March 9th





TELEVISION

Lost – Season Six

After five long, arduous years of twists and turns and more surprises than you could poke a polar bear at, one of television’s greatest shows is drawing to a close. I’ve been a dedicated viewer for five seasons, often with much screaming at the television, and if the conclusion doesn’t answer everything, well, there’ll be hell to pay.

Airdate: February 2nd (US)



Caprica – Season One

I’m generally not much of a sci-fi fan. I was, however, an enormous follower of Battlestar Galactica. It wasn’t just a space opera; it was a finely tuned, gritty metaphor for the highs and lows of the human psyche. With BSG finished, I’m hoping that this spin-off can fill that gap.

Airdate: January 22nd (US)





Most of all, I’m looking forward to Australian Idol not being on the air this year. Let’s hope it stays that way.

Airdate: Never, hopefully.






FILM

Bran Nue Dae

I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a sucker for musicals, and this one should be no different. Not to mention it’s Aussie- hopefully it will begin to reverse the dire state the film industry has been in of late. I’m looking forward to seeing Magda Szubanski and Missy Higgins break out in song…almost as much as I’m looking forward to Jessica Mauboy fail at acting as much as she does at singing.

Released: January 14th




Alice in Wonderland

Tim Burton is back in 2010 with a re-imagined Alice in Wonderland. Undoubtedly it’ll be vastly different to any other Alice story we’ve been told, and with Johnny Depp and the superb Helena Bonham Carter starring, it’ll be just as popular.

Released: March 5th (US)





The Social Network

What the what? A movie about facebook? More accurately, it’s about the guys who created the 8th most populated nation in the world. I’m interested in seeing this just to see if they can pull it off; I would totes ‘Like’ that if they can.

Released: October 10 (US)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Pt 1)

And what would 2010 be without a Harry Potter film? It’s the beginning of the end for the cultural phenomenon (the beginning because of the ‘creative’ decision to split the last book into two films). What will become of Harry? And Hermione? And Ron? Will Voldemort prevail? Of course we all know the answer to that, but it’ll be a riot anyway.

Released: 19th November (US)



Yes, 2010 is shaping up to be one busy year. Come February I will be taking up the position as QUT Creative Industries’ marketing assistant, which means between my final year of university, work, and keeping this blog updated I’m going to struggle to even make it through half of these releases. On top of all that I will be undertaking a project with Musicadium over the coming months. I can’t tell you much for now, but it will be in March and it will involve the Edge at SLQ. So really, who needs sleep anyway? Happy 2010, peeps.

2 Responses to “2010 in entertainment”

  1. Lyndellnm said

    Congratulations on the job Will. You’ll be a great addition to the marketing team at QUT as well as to the faculty! Looking forward to working with you, at some time or other…
    PS looking forward to Season 6 of LOST too!

  2. Paul said

    Interesting choices – don’t really have an opinion on the music front, as I always seem to be about 6 months to a year behind everyone else.

    TV though – while I’ve never been a fan of Lost, I am very much looking forward to the new show V – the one about the visitors to earth. I caught a bit of it over in New Zealand (what the fuck?!?! New Zealand gets a new American show before we do?) and it looked very interesting indeed. Interesting themes. Although I can’t say I like the idea of the aliens secretly being evil. I’d prefer it if they were genuinely good, and humanity rejected their aid and destroyed them. It would be more in keeping with the grim outlook on humanity and our morals. Mind you, I’m a cynic like that.

    I too am anxiously awaiting Alice in Wonderland. Should be a cracker of a film. Probably a good film for me to see high, but people tend to notice if you light a joint in a public theatre…

Leave a Reply

